November 2018 Municipal Election

The City of Cherry Hills Village will hold its regular municipal election as a coordinated election with Arapahoe County on Tuesday November 6, 2018. A candidate lot draw was conducted at the September 4, 2018 City Council meeting to determine the order of names on the ballot.

November 2018 Ballot

  • Mayor:
    • Russell Stewart
    • Laura Christman
  • District 2
    • Afshin Safavi
    • Earl Hoellen
  • District 4
    • Mike Gallagher
  • District 6
    • Zachary Bishop
    • Katy Brown
  • There are currently no other city-wide issues on the November 6, 2018 ballot. The City has received a petition for the formation of a General Improvement District for several properties in the Charlou Park 3rd Filing area to finance the cost of undergrounding utility lines. Only electors who live or own property in the proposed district will vote on the formation of the district.

City Council District Map (PDF)

Candidate Requirements:

  • At least 21 years old
  • Citizen of the United States
  • Resident of Cherry Hills Village for at least 12 consecutive months preceding the date of the election
  • Registered elector
  • Resident of the district the candidate wants to represent. Any person elected to office must continue to live within the district for  which he or she was elected throughout the term of office. The mayor need only continue to live within the city.  View the Council District Map (PDF).

November 2018 Election Timeline

August 7, 2018First day candidate nomination petitions may be circulated;
Candidate Information Session
August 27, 2018Candidate nomination petitions are due to the City Clerk by 4:30 p.m.
August 31, 2018Last day nomination petitions may be amended;
Last day for a candidate to withdraw;
Last day an Affidavit of Intent for Write-In Candidate may be filed with the City Clerk
September 4, 2018Draw lots for candidate order on ballot;
Last regular Council meeting to add ballot issues or measures;
Last regular Council meeting to cancel the election
October 15, 2018Ballots mailed to all registered voters;
Ballot drop-off locations and Voter Service Centers open
November 6, 2018ELECTION DAY
January 1, 2019Organizational Meeting – Newly elected officials are sworn in and take office – Meeting will need to be rescheduled due to the holiday

Municipal Elections

The Cherry Hills Village City Council includes a Mayor and 6 Council members, one from each of the City's six Council districts (PDF). All positions are elected at-large, meaning all  registered electors in the City may vote for one candidate for each of  the positions on the ballot.

The City conducts its regular municipal election every two years, in even-numbered years, on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November. The City coordinates with Arapahoe County for regular elections. Cherry Hills Village has staggered terms at which time residents have the opportunity to vote for either the Mayor and Districts 1, 3, and 5 or the Mayor and Districts 2, 4, and 6, dependent  on the election year.

Term Starts & Limits

The person elected as Mayor will serve two-year terms of office. Each Mayor is limited to three consecutive terms. The persons elected as Council members will serve four-year terms of office. Each Council member is limited to two consecutive terms. The term commences at an organizational meeting held during the first Council meeting in January following the election. All municipal elections are nonpartisan and nomination is accomplished by petition.