2020 Regular Municipal Election

The City’s next regular municipal election will be held on November 3, 2020. This election will be a mail ballot election held in coordination with Arapahoe County. Check your voter registration to ensure you receive a ballot.

Ballot Contents

The following City Council positions will be on the ballot:

  • Mayor (Mayor Stewart is not term limited)
  • Council member District 1 (Councilor Weil is not term limited)
  • Council member District 3 (Councilor Blum is not term limited)
  • Council member District 5 (Councilor Sheldon is not term limited)

There are currently no other issues on the Cherry Hills Village ballot. Final ballot content is due to Arapahoe County by September 4, 2020. For information on the state-wide ballot visit ArapahoeVotes.com.

Candidate Requirements

  • At least 21 years old
  • Citizen of the United States
  • Resident of Cherry Hills Village for at least 12 consecutive months preceding the date of the election
  • Registered elector
  • Resident of the district the candidate wants to represent. Any person elected to office must continue to live within the district for which he or she was elected throughout the term of office. The mayor need only continue to live within the city.  View the Council District Map (PDF).

Becoming a Candidate

All municipal elections are nonpartisan and nomination is accomplished by petition. In order to become a candidate a resident must collect the required number of signatures on their nomination petition.

  • Mayor: Not fewer than 25 registered electors residing within the City of Cherry Hills Village
  • Council member: Not fewer than 10 registered electors residing within the District

Nomination petitions may be circulated beginning August 4, 2020 and must be returned to the City Clerk no later than August 24, 2020. Nomination petition forms and other candidate information will be added to the website this summer. Please contact City Clerk Laura Gillespie with any questions at 303-783-2732 or lgillespie@cherryhillsvillage.com

Term Starts & Limits

Terms commence at the first Council meeting in January following the election, called the Organizational Meeting.

The person elected as Mayor will serve two-year terms of office. Each Mayor is limited to three consecutive terms. The persons elected as Council members will serve four-year terms of office. Each Council member is limited to two consecutive terms.